You attended an office party and made the unfortunate decision to have one too many drinks. On your way home, police follow you and order you to pull over.
If this is the first time law enforcement has stopped you for driving while under the influence, or DWI, you may panic. What are your rights and your liabilities? Understanding DWI laws in New Hampshire may help you to prepare for the consequences and remedies for DWI offenses.
New Hampshire DWI laws define impaired driving as: “Driving or operating under the influence of drugs or liquor.” An alcohol concentration of .08 or more indicates impairment.
Additional charges, or aggravated DWI, include:
- Driving in excess of 30 mph over the speed limit
- Causing a motor vehicle collision that results in serious bodily injury
Penalties for impaired driving offenses
First-time offender penalties impose fines up to $1200 and a maximum of 24 months license revocation. Repeat offenders’ penalties for DWI increase significantly and may result in:
- License revocation
Implied consent laws
You consented to field sobriety tests when you applied for a driver’s license.
- Tests permitted are blood, breath or urine tests
- The penalty for refusal may be a six-month loss of license
Drinking and driving is a serious violation and is strictly enforced by law. As a first-time DWI offender, familiarizing yourself with the New Hampshire laws may enable you to assess your options for protecting your rights and your future as a responsible driver.