Driving while intoxicated can result in serious criminal penalties in New Hampshire. Law enforcement can arrest you for obvious drug impairment or blood alcohol content of above 0.08% in a traffic stop.
Review the legal penalties for a DWI conviction in New Hampshire.
If you have no DWI convictions in the past 10 years, penalties for a first conviction may include:
- Fines of $500 to $1,200
- License suspension for nine to 24 months
However, you can receive stricter penalties for an aggravated DWI if you:
- Had BAC of 0.16% or higher at the time of arrest
- Received a DWI with a passenger age 16 or younger
- Attempted to get away from law enforcement
- Were traveling at 30 miles per hour or higher over the speed limit
A first-time aggravated DWI conviction results in at least five days and up to a year in jail. You could also receive fines of $750 to $2,000 and license suspension for 18 to 24 months. Causing an accident that injures another person while intoxicated is a felony that carries 14 days to seven years in jail and up to $4,000 in fines.
If you got a DWI already within the past 10 years, a second conviction can result in:
- Fines of $750 to $2,000
- License suspension for three years
- At least 17 days and up to one year in jail
You may qualify for probation with a second or third DWI. You must complete the New Hampshire Impaired Driver Care Management Program if eligible.