DWI, the New Hampshire point system and your license

On Behalf of | Aug 5, 2018 | Firm News

Let us say you were at a party with friends, had a couple of beers and then got in your car to drive home.

A law enforcement officer stopped you on suspicion of drunk driving. A conviction adds points to your driving record. How can you get them removed?

The point system explained

The Division of Motor Vehicles Department in New Hampshire has established a penalty point system for drivers convicted of infractions. The number of points assigned to your driving record will be based on the severity of your misdemeanor. For example, if you receive a ticket for speeding and were driving at 25 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, this will add four points to your record. If you do not provide a law enforcement officer with your driver’s license upon request, you will gain two points. The penalty for driving while intoxicated is six points.

License suspension

Drivers aged 21 years or older must be careful about accruing demerits. If you collect 12 points in one year, you could have your license suspended for as long as three months. You can lose your license for up to six months if you accrue 18 points within two years. If you are younger than 21, you could face even more significant penalties.

Additional penalties

In addition to points on your driving record and possible license suspension, the court can order further penalties if you receive a drunk driving conviction. These might include the following:

  • Mandatory imprisonment
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Heavy fines

Fighting the charges

Keeping your license is crucial. So is clearing your record, and you can dispute the charge of DWI in an effort to do so. Another possibility is to attend a driver improvement course. Once you complete the program successfully, the DMV will remove three points from your record. Remember, you have rights within this system, and you deserve the best outcome possible for your DWI conviction.