Everyone wants to avoid criminal punishment and stay on the right side of the law. One thing that can make it difficult to comply with state laws is the fact that they change frequently. Several new laws in New Hampshire exist as of the beginning of 2019.
These laws concern various topics, from traffic violations to marriage. Here are some of the most notable new laws in the Granite State.
The minimum age for marriage
House Bill 1587 changes the minimum age for teenagers to get married to 16. This law replaces the previous age requirements of 14 for boys and 13 for girls. State representative Casandra Levesque is responsible for bringing this law to the forefront.
Motor vehicle operations
Multiple new rules for New Hampshire motorists exist, including:
- House Bill 1595: It is unlawful to impede traffic or drive below the speed limit in the left lane. Consequences include a $50 fine and penalty assessment for violators.
- House Bill 1420: Habitual offenders who continue to drive vehicles are committing a Class A misdemeanor.
- House Bill 1517: Stricter examinations exist for rust during vehicle inspections. If rust dislodges from a bumper, deteriorates the frame or allows gases to enter the interior of the car, the vehicle will not pass inspection.
Make sure you keep these new rules in mind as you drive your car.
Anyone getting a divorce will be subject to new alimony rules. Senate Bill 71 enacts a new formula to figure out how much the person responsible for alimony contributes to the recipient.
Restriction of marriages for those under the age of consent
House Bill 1661 prevents judges from allowing marriage contracts for couples younger than 16 years old. The only exception is if it is clear the marriage is in the best interest of the child.
Wildlife trafficking ban
Restrictions on trafficking wildlife are new. Senate Bill 451 restricts the trading of products deriving from elephants, rhinos, leopards, whales, sharks and sea turtles.
These are just a few of a whopping 395 bills that are in effect in 2019.